1

The Review Icon came to my screen about a week ago. I find that it is promoting 100 or more new posts every day.

By the time I see this, I have seen the posts already as I tend to look through posts and see whether or not I can assist.

Can I disable this Icon? Thank you

  • 1
    Is simply ignoring the button not an option? I suppose you could use a userscript to hide it... – Bob Oct 9 at 0:01
  • 1
    I dislike Red Lights on my browser Window. Yes, I can ignore it, but cleaning up so there is nothing there takes 15 or 20 minutes of Post, Review, Post, Review ... until empty. Many duplicates. So for the time being, I ignore but hopefully it might change some day. I am not a programmer, so scripting it beyond me – John Oct 9 at 0:04
  • 1
    Do you just want to hide the red, or the button entirely? – Bob Oct 9 at 0:14
  • 1
    Just hiding the Red would be nifty as then I can go there in a spare moment and clean it up. Thanks for your thoughts here. – John Oct 9 at 0:16
  • If you absolutely want it gone we could try banning you from review completely. Not sure if/how it would work and seems like a sledgehammer to crack a nut.... – Mokubai Oct 9 at 6:35
  • Just curious as I haven't tried myself but, can it not just be blocked with something like uBlock Origin? Essentially it just sets it's CSS selector as display: none; – J. Scott Elblein Oct 11 at 17:21
  • Mokubai wrote "If you absolutely want it gone we could try banning you from review completely. Not sure if/how it would work and seems like a sledgehammer to crack a nut." Is this feasible to do? The script Bob provided works fine, but two things: The script produces a constant red Icon and the Review Icon flashes Red whenever I change screens. It really does all get in the way. It got worse just recently when more reviews were added. If you remove me from this, do I lose other permissions? It does not really matter but I ask out of curiosity. Thank you. – – John 2 days ago
  • @Mokubai Pinging you for ^ comment. – Bob 2 days ago
  • The ban is specific to the review queues and I don't believe it affects anything else. It is normally applied automatically after repeatedly failing review audits but can be applied manually if we notice a robo-reviewer or someone making consistently bad reviews in general. From what I can tell you simply get a "there is nothing for you to review" message. meta.stackexchange.com/questions/303584/… – Mokubai yesterday
  • While I did mention it, I'd very much prefer not to use the ban except as a last resort. Review is a good place for you to see and act on both good and bad questions and answers. You can also see how other users voted and how/if their actions differed from yours by using the history. As mentioned removing the ability to review is an option, but not one to be taken lightly. A ban can be any number of days up to a year. – Mokubai yesterday
  • Thank you for the clarification. I will use the script that Bob provided. – John yesterday
4

You can use the following custom stylesheet to hide just the red alert indicator:

.js-review-button._danger-indicator:after {
    display: none
}

or hide the entire button:

.js-review-button {
    display: none
}

This can be created using a custom stylesheet addon like Stylish. Define a new stylesheet (in Stylish, via the triple-dot menu into Create New Style) and apply it to the following domains (in Stylish, via "Applies to" => "Specify"):

askubuntu.com
mathoverflow.net
onstartups.com
serverfault.com
stackapps.com
stackexchange.com
stackoverflow.com
superuser.com

It is not necessary to allow Stylish to autodiscover new styles; just click Cancel when it prompts you.

GIF of the process (click for full size):

GIF of process

  • Thank you. Where and how do I run this. I have the script in a desktop file (script.txt) on my computer. I am using Chrome currently, though I use Edge as well. – John Oct 9 at 0:36
  • @John If you install a userscript extension (Violentmonkey, Tampermonkey), you should be able to create a new script in one of them and copy-paste the script in and save. Alternatively, you can save the file with the extension .user.js and open it in the browser (after you have one of those extensions installed). Or use this raw gist link. – Bob Oct 9 at 0:59
  • I have tried to run it. Let me see what happens (say) tomorrow. Thank you. – John Oct 9 at 1:11
  • So far fewer issues. I would not like to be banned if possible – John Oct 9 at 11:47
  • @John I assume the banned comment was meant to be a response to Mokubai on the question? – Bob Oct 9 at 13:06
  • I assume so, yes – John Oct 9 at 14:19
  • Type ahead went screwy. I meant just: Yes – John Oct 9 at 15:25
  • 1
    lol, "ViolentMonkey". – J. Scott Elblein Oct 11 at 17:20
  • Mokubai wrote "If you absolutely want it gone we could try banning you from review completely. Not sure if/how it would work and seems like a sledgehammer to crack a nut." Is this feasible to do? The script above works fine, but two things: The script produces a constant red Icon and the Review Icon flashes Red whenever I change screens. It really does all get in the way. It got worse just recently when more reviews were added. If you remove me from this, do I lose other permissions? It does not really matter but I ask out of curiosity. Thank you. – John 2 days ago
  • @John I'm not sure what you mean by constant red icon/flashing red; I don't see that happen. If you would like to discuss bans from review you'd need to ping (@ notify) Mokubai in the comments on your question; as they've not commented on this answer they won't get notified of your comments here. – Bob 2 days ago
  • If I stay on this screen, the review icon stays grey. If I complete and backspace to the prior screen, it shows a red light (which it always did before the working Chrome script) and then the script turns off the red light on the review icon. I am very new here and I do not think I can contact any members. – John 2 days ago
  • @John Ok, I see what you mean. I've updated this answer with a pure CSS approach that should apply instantly (and therefore not flash anything on/off), if you would like to use that instead. To get in contact with Mokubai, you can simply reply to their comment on your question above ^ since they have commented there, they will be pingable. Just not in the answer comments because they have not commented here. Use the ping format of @ followed by the username (username alone will not notify), as I have done to you at the beginning of this comment. – Bob 2 days ago
  • @John Alternatively, you can contact them in the Ask A Super User Moderator chatroom, just ping them in the same format (@ + Mokubai) as they will be in that room. – Bob 2 days ago
  • I replied to the comment farther back and will wait and see if I get a response. I do not know how to use CSS - that is over my head – John 2 days ago
  • @John Your comment was missing the @ ping so they would not have gotten the notification. That's why I mentioned it again. – Bob 2 days ago

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .