jZip was mentioned a few times on SU, the problem is that it is possible malicious software.

The most prominent problems I've found are:

  • The website was registered via a proxy service, there's no way to figure out who owns it
  • The website seems to be associated with the Panthera Project, which is a project of the Discordia Limited company, part of the RIAA 'P2P hunters'.
  • A scan on virustotal.com of the Setup didn't reveal anything, but I'm not eager to test it out by installing it

Yes, I know that this is very vague information...so, shall I further investigate this or leave it be?

  • 1
    you should really try chat more often :P
    – Ivo Flipse
    Commented Jan 10, 2011 at 22:10
  • @Ivo Flipse: True, I always forget about that one. :)
    – Bobby
    Commented Jan 10, 2011 at 22:11
  • Just press the link in the sidebar -->
    – Ivo Flipse
    Commented Jan 10, 2011 at 22:17

2 Answers 2


Anything we can do to make the internet a safer please for those who can't fight for themselves!

I preemptively killed all current instances, as most where just mentions in regular zip questions.


I removed the last reference on a question


Let me know if this needs to be added to the blacklist in some way; that's a developer only function because it is so dangerous.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .