The general rule is that you should flag for moderator attention only if there is something that you can't handle yourself. So ideally, with your new privileges, you shouldn't need to flag anymore. Downvote and vote to delete.*
We have to remember that we're still a very small site compared to Stack Overflow in terms of reputation. On SO, the number ...
Does anyone go and check questions on hold and make a decision about them?
They are deleted, subject to a specified set of conditions.
There is a automated cleanup process for this. The script is known as the roomba:
The system will automatically delete closed (not as a duplicate),
unlocked questions with zero or negative score having no positively
It was deleted because it is either a comment or something you tried.
It was not a solution to your question so it should never have been posted as an answer. Answers that are seeking clarification and/or just saying "Thanks!" will be deleted.
If you want to clarify things such as explaining code that didn't quite work or other items you have tried then ...
At first glance, your answer looks like it is saying
“Thank you, @<username>,”
and then showing the output of the other user’s code.
People who are accustomed to forums
believe that it’s appropriate to post a new answer
to say “Thank you” for another answer.
In our Q&A format, that is not appropriate;
as I mentioned in my comment, the way to do ...
In principle, you can delete them if you are no longer interested in an answer. However, I personally would recommend to just leave them up—maybe someone has an answer for you some day.
Deleting your own questions should really be avoided in favor of editing and improving them. Deleting a question that was put on hold or closed negatively affects your ...
You cannot delete a question if it has answers posted to it that have at least an upvote.
It's disabled because deleting a useful answer to an on topic question deprives the community as a whole.
If the answers do not work or solve your problem, you can comment on them and/or downvote them to signal to other users that the current batch of answers do not ...
Only moderators can view deleted comments. I am fairly certain there is no way to know for sure that there are deleted comments on a post, other than of course remembering that one was there and seeing that it's not anymore.
The idea of notifying commenters of comment deletion has been discussed on MSE. It's unlikely to be implemented for two reasons:
Questions that are still termed "on hold" (not "closed") are not automatically removed because we want to allow users time to revise their question to get it reopened. After five days, the status text changes to "closed," but there is no functional difference between the two states. Shortly after that, questions that received sufficiently negative feedback ...
Comments are, preferentially, for teasing out information. Rather than being permanent fixtures of "this is some information" they are best used as "trial and error" or faultfinding tidbits. Real information on the problem should really be in your question.
We do not enforce the keeping of comments like we do useful answers and a set of ...
It seems at least here, that the opinion is that informative comments
ta should be deleted, and wonder why that was so?
Informative comments should be avoided because they can be deleted at any point, and extended discussions should be avoided. Any information required to answer your question should be contained within the question itself. Once you have ...
Closing does not count toward the unanswered count.
Closed questions are either ready to be fixed, or just waiting to be deleted. It's the first step in making sure users know that they've had a fair crack at the whip and if they don't address any of the issues with the question, it will be later removed.
Duplicates, however, are a special case for their ...
You can delete your own questions, assuming certain criteria are met.
From our help page Why are questions deleted:
Users can delete their own questions if the question:
has zero answers
only one answer, but that answer has no upvotes
Simply click the delete link underneath the question.
Deleting a question when it has upvoted answers ...
The comment you deleted essentially was an attempt to extract an answer out of a off topic/closed question via comments. The deletion was by design.
Comments should be considered to be ephemeral - they are liable to be deleted at any time, for a variety of reasons. If something matters, it needs to eventually be rolled into a question or answer.
When used ...
To address this:
Why aren't questions like these just deleted instead of being closed?
They are, actually deleted - but after some time has passed. That "time" varies from a week to a month to couple of months, but I do spring cleaning every now and then, and I know for a fact that few high rep users put in their delete votes.( 10k+ users can check ...
As Daniel Beck mentioned, those kind of slipped through the cracks. Jim and Yolgie's answers were deleted, and the formerly accepted answer was converted to a comment on Tim's answer.
I think in such a complicated case going to Meta was the best choice.
Thanks for explaining the situation and bringing it to our attention.
Please see note below.
At 20k, you should downvote and vote to delete. Flags for moderator attention should be reserved for posts that you cannot handle yourself or require immediate attention. We want the community to be involved in moderation. From A Theory of Moderation (emphasis original):
[W]hat do community [♦] moderators do? The short answer is,...
We allow only answers in the answer section, no exceptions. Once you have sufficient reputation, you'll be able to comment everywhere and downvote bad answers.
A very important power that you get pretty early (15 reputation) is the ability to flag posts. If you're sure that an answer is malicious, flag it as needing moderator attention, and fully explain ...